Money Back Guarantee

Return Policy

Your satisfaction is our top priority. If you are not satisfied with your purchase, please return the item(s) for an exchange or refund within 30 days from the purchase date, unless otherwise noted on the product page.

Ship the item(s) to The Writers Store via a traceable and insured method. You will be responsible for return shipping fees.

Please include a completed Return Form with your shipment. Refunds take up to one week to process once we have received the item(s).

Software returns must be deactivated and uninstalled from your computer before a refund may be issued. Please contact the software manufacturer if you need assistance uninstalling or deactivating your software.

The following items are not returnable: Hollywood Creative Directories, DVDs (opened), and Gift Certificates.

Your Satisfaction is Our Goal
0

The Spotlight Screenplay Competition

Update: January 19, 2017

Congratulations to our Grand Prize Winner!

  • Chelsea Watkins, Powderpuff

Update: December 30, 2016

Congratulations to our finalists!

  • Nancy Bartley, The Boy Who Shot the Sheriff
  • Kelly Byrnes, Glitches
  • Heidi Einarson, The Keepers of Altara
  • Andy Jones, The Anklebiter
  • David Kushner, Adam & Eve
  • Matthew O'Connell, For All Mankind
  • Scott Pittock, Sanctuary
  • Dan Rivais, Beneath Your Eyes
  • Brendan Vogel & Matt Clingempeel, KPOP
  • Chelsea Watkins, Powderpuff

Update: December 14, 2016

After several weeks of reading and providing feedback, we are happy to present the 25 semi-finalists for this year's contest. They are:

  • Scott Pittock, Sanctuary
  • Kelly Byrnes, Glitches
  • Ian Gupton, PerseVeRance
  • Christian Thomas, Sardis the Merciful
  • Charles Ancelle, American Dream
  • David Schroeder, Lost Cause
  • Stefano Bozzo, The Obsolete Child
  • Eliott Rollins, Radical
  • Kajal Naidu, The Birth of Zeus
  • David Kushner, Adam & Eve
  • Tom Omokaro, Pentagram
  • Andy Jones, The Anklebiter
  • Heidi Einarson, The Keepers of Altara
  • Nancy Bartley, The Boy Who Shot the Sheriff
  • Eric Humble, The Cold Slab
  • Jason Teich & Davia Sills, The Con Artist's Daughter
  • Homer Hsieh, The Risk Factor
  • Patricia Meyer, Enemyway
  • Brendan Vogel & Matt Clingempeel, KPOP
  • Dan Rivais, Beneath Your Eyes
  • Christopher David Johnson, Creature Feature
  • Chelsea Watkins, Powderpuff
  • Ferdinand Gernandt, The Sangoma Effect
  • Matthew O'Connell, For All Mankind
  • Steve Bensinger, Steppin' Out!

Cash Prize. Invaluable Mentorship. Industry Access.

When you enter the Spotlight Screenplay Competition, you put your script in the running for a $5,000 grand prize, a one-year ISA CONNECT membership, and meetings with industry professionals that could launch your career.

To enter, send us an original feature script in any genre. Screenplays should be between 90 and 130 pages. You must own the sole rights to the story.

There can be only one winner, but the Spotlight Screenplay Competition offers valuable incentives to all entrants:

  • Each and every entrant has the option to receive professional feedback on their work. For more information, please see Contest Feedback below.
  • 25 semi-finalists will enjoy an honorable mention in Script Magazine and an annual membership to ScreenwritingDirectory.com.
  • 10 finalists will score a consultation with a ScriptXpert Story Coach, a one-year ISA CONNECT membership, and exposure to over 200 industry professionals who might be moved by their work.
  • One grand prize winner will receive $5000 and have their loglines shared with the execs from more than 20 top industry companies. At companies' request, meetings will be booked with the winner to discuss the future of their screenplay.

Enter the Spotlight Screenplay Competition now.

Contestants who purchase entries now do not have to submit their screenplay until the final deadline.

Roster of Industry Contacts

In addition to the cash prize, the grand prize winner will have their loglines shared with the execs from more than 20 top industry companies, including those below.

At companies' request, meetings will be booked with the winner to discuss the future of their screenplay. That's a once in a lifetime opportunity, and an ideal way for an industry newcomer to make their debut.

  • Lionsgate
  • Nickelodeon
  • Madhouse Entertainment
  • Eclectic Pictures
  • Rubicon Entertainment
  • Indomitable Entertainment
  • Gidden Media
  • Freckle Films
  • Cross Creek Pictures
  • Benaroya Pictures
  • Overbrook Entertainment
  • Sierra/Affinity
  • Quadrant Pictures
  • Pine River Entertainment
  • Paradigm
  • Nasser Entertainment
  • Footprint Features
  • The Savage Agency
  • Echo Lake Entertainment
  • Romark Entertainment
  • Multiple independent managers

Contest Feedback Option

Get professional feedback on your entry using our Contest Feedback Option. With this professional service, you receive:

  • Overall Notes on your submission
  • A rating of Pass or Consider
  • Ratings on Concept, Plot, Pacing, Format, Characters and Dialogue
  • Resubmission 20% off discount

Prize Packages

• Honorable mention in Script Magazine
• One-time annual membership to ScreenwritingDirectory.com
• One year membership to ISA CONNECT
• Announcement in Script Magazine
• Screenplay Pitch Clinic with ScriptXpert Story Coach
• Exposure to Industry Professionals
Grand Prize Winner
Everything included in finalist and semi-finalist packages plus:
• $5,000 Cash Prize
• Meetings with Industry Professionals, at studio's request
• Special Invitation into the ISA Development Program


The International Screenwriters' Association is an informational resource for screenwriters worldwide and a resource for film and TV producers seeking screenwriters.

Final Draft® is the number-one selling screenwriting application in the world. Final Draft automatically paginates and formats your script to industry standards, allowing writers to focus on what they do best - writing scripts. Used by such industry giants as J.J. Abrams, James Cameron and Aaron Sorkin, Final Draft software is the professional's choice and the entertainment industry standard.

Script Magazine has been the leading source for information on the craft and business of writing for film and television for over 15 years. With the inside information, articles written by working writers and filmmakers, and in-depth interviews, Script is the resource on every scriptwriters' must-read list.

Contest Closed

Contest Details:

For feedback on your contest submission click on Enter Contest w/ Feedback for an additional $50 fee.

For general contest submission click on Enter Contest.

  • Contest Begins: July 1, 2016
  • Early Deadline: August 15, 2016
  • Early Fee: $40
  • Standard Deadline: September 30, 2016
  • Standard Fee: $50
  • Extended Deadline: October 31, 2016
  • Extended Fee: $75
  • Winner Announced: December, 2016

The 2015 Spotlight Screenplay Competition Grand Prize Winner

Congratulations to screenwriter Rebekah Reaves, the Grand Prize Winner of the Spotlight Screenplay Competition. She received a $5,000 Cash Prize, meetings with Industry Professionals and a special invitation into the ISA Development Program.

Thank you to our sponsor the International Screenwriters’ Association, whose team prepped Rebekah for Industry success and help launch her screenwriting career. And an additional thanks to our sponsors Writer Brothers and Script Magazine.